Director Nomination and Voting Process

Cloverland Electric Cooperative is a not-for-profit electric utility that is owned and democratically controlled by the members we serve. As a member-owner, you have a voice in the co-op through the members you elect to serve on the board of directors. Our service area is divided into three districts: A, B and C. Each district is represented by three directors elected by the members of that district to serve a three-year term. One seat in each district is up for election every year, which occurs in May.

A member interested in seeking election to the board must meet the director qualifications outlined in the co-op’s bylaws and file a petition for nomination containing the valid signatures of at least 25 members from his or her district.

For a petition and information packet, please call 906-632-5143. Nominating petitions and supporting documents must be returned to the co-op’s administration office at 725 E. Portage Avenue in Sault Ste. Marie by 4:30 p.m. on Friday, March 5, 2021.

Director elections take place in May through mailed ballots to each member. Background information on director candidates can be found in the May-June issue of Cloverland Connections, and the cooperative’s Facebook and LinkedIn sites. Election results will be presented at the annual meeting of the members in June.

Cloverland Electric Cooperative is an equal opportunity provider and employer.

The Cloverland logo is copyright protected and not to be used without approval from Cloverland Electric Co-op.

Scroll to Top